New Chair of North Carolina EMC Announced

Stephen De May, President, Duke Energy North Carolina

A. Stanley "Stan" Meiburg, PhD, Chair, Environmental Management Commission

New Chair of North Carolina EMC Announced

NCDEQ NEWS RELEASE • February 11, 2019

RALEIGH - The N.C. Department of Environmental Quality today announced that A. Stanley “Stan” Meiburg, Ph.D., has assumed chairmanship of the state’s Environmental Management Commission (EMC). The commission is responsible for adopting rules for the protection, preservation and enhancement of the state's air and water resources.

Meiburg replaced J.D. Solomon as chairman in February, and his term will last until June 30, 2021. Solomon will continue to serve as a member of the panel continues until June 2019.

“We are grateful for Dr. Solomon’s leadership guiding the EMC to build a solid foundation for critical environmental stewardship decisions that will affect our state for generations to come. Dr. Meiburg is a proven leader in air and water protection, and his expertise will serve the people of North Carolina well in the coming term,” said Assistant Secretary for the Environment Sheila Holman.

Meiburg currently leads Wake Forest’s Master of Arts in Sustainability graduate program and associated dual degree and certificate programs, and he works with the Wake Forest Center for Energy, Environment and Sustainability (CEES). Meiburg recently served as chair of the EMC’s Air Quality Committee.

In 39 years with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), Meiburg served as acting deputy administrator, deputy regional administrator of Region 4 (Atlanta) and Region 6 (Dallas), acting regional administrator in Regions 4 and 6, national EPA liaison to the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, and Region 6 director of Air, Pesticides and Toxics Division. He also led work on the 1990 Clean Air Act Amendments through EPA’s Office of Air Quality Planning and Standards.

The Environmental Management Commission was authorized by the N.C. General Assembly under General Statute 143B-283 and is a 15-member commission appointed by the Governor, the Senate Pro Tempore and the Speaker of the House. 2019 meetings are set for the second Thursdays of March, May, July, September and November.